

British Library

Mary Martha Rodwell's two volume geography covered the entire British Isles: England and Wales in volume one, and Scotland and Ireland in volume two. It was not reprinted and few copies seem to have survived. The work included fifty-nine plates, 90 x 155 mm., each having two outline county maps, one above the other, except for just three Scottish ones* which were one map. Their purpose was to test the topographical knowledge of the student with towns indicated by numbers and rivers by letters. They had no lettering other than the county name:

Northumberland / Cumberland; Isle of Man / Durham; Westmoreland / Yorkshire; Lancashire / Lincolnshire; Norfolk / Suffolk; Essex / Kent; Sussex / Hampshire; Dorsetshire / Devonshire; Somersetshire / Cornwall; Cheshire / Shropshire; Herefordshire / Monmouthshire; Glocestershire / Oxfordshire; Wiltshire / Berkshire; Surry / Middlesex; Buckinghamshire / Hertfordshire; Bedfordshire / Northamptonshire; Huntingdonshire / Cambridgeshire; Rutlandshire / Leicestershire; Nottinghamshire / Derbyshire; Staffordshire / Warwickshire; Worcestershire / Flintshire; Denbighshire / Anglesea; Caernarvonshire / Merionethshire; Montgomeryshire / Radnorshire; Brecknockshire / Cardiganshire; Caermarthenshire / Glamorganshire; Pembrokeshire / Guernsey & Jersey.

Orkney and Shetland Islands*; Caithness-shire / Sutherlandshire; Ross-shire and Cromarty*; Inverness-shire and Nairn*; Murrayshire / Bamffshire; Aberdeenshire / Mearnshire; Angusshire / Perthshire and Clackmannon; Kinross shire and Fifeshire / Stirlingshire; Dumbartonshire / Argyleshire; Bute shire / Ayrshire; Renfrew shire / Lanerk shire; Linlithgow shire / Edinburgh shire; Haddington shire / Berwick shire; Roxburgh shire / Peebles shire; Selkirk shire / Dumfries shire; Kirkcudbright / Wigtownshire.

Antrim / Down; Armagh / Monaghan; Cavan / Fermanagh; Tyrone / Derry; Donegal / Louth; Dublin / Meath; West-Meath / Loongford; King's County / Queen's County; Kildare / Wicklow; Kilkenny / Carlow; Wexford / Waterford; Tipperary / Cork; Limerick / Clare; Kerry / Galway; Roscommon / Mayo; Sligo / Leitrim.

Geography of the British Isles. London, Longman & others, 1834.

